Cheap textbooks and good coffee.

I flung my book bag into a sea of dresses, skirts and sweaters – also known as my dorm room floor. College had been terrible as usual, and my roommate was out of town for the weekend, leaving the dorm all to myself. I jumped onto my cheap single bed and closed my eyes, rubbing my temples. Why did I choose to go to college? I thought. Finals were just round the corner and I had been running on coffee and my roommate’s magically never ending supply of fizzy cola candy. I had always been against the idea of coffee and candy at the same time, but desperate times called for desperate measures.

My academic history has always been impeccable. Straight A’s through elementary, middle and high school. Honour roll student, nothing less. College was a test for me, a test that I could still be that all star student I had always been. Headphones in and my psychology textbook open, I laid on my bed trying to study. In the midst of a paragraph about Freud, the door suddenly opened, making me roll off my bed in surprise.

“OW.” I shouted, feeling the impact of the fall on my back, the pain spreading up to my neck. I sit up slowly, to see a guy going through my roommate’s nightstand. “Oh yeah sorry.” The guy turned around and gave me a quick smug smile, while I tried to regain my balance and sit up. “Who are you?” This guy was now looking under my roommate’s bed. “I’m Mary’s brother. I’m looking for something she owes me.”  The guy said while lying on the dorm floor slowly crawling under Mary’s bed. Mary had never she mentioned she had a brother before.

“Well, she’s not here. She went home for the weekend.” I sat back on my bed and grabbed my textbook and began reading. “Ha ha.” I looked up from my book. This guy was laughing at me, his arms crossed. “What?” I asked annoyed. “Your psych textbook cost more than my college tuition. You want cheap textbooks and…” He looked at the cheap cup of black coffee on my nightstand. “Good coffee?” He smiled and stretched out his hand. “I’m Derek. I was looking for Mary’s headphones.” I took his hand and shook it. “I’m Violet. And sure. Let’s go.” I smiled at Derek.

Cheap textbooks and good coffee – how could a broke college student say no to that?

4 Comments

Filed under Short Stories.

4 responses to “Cheap textbooks and good coffee.

  1. Really like your story! Every story you do gets more interesting! 😀

  2. I like your writing style. It’s simple but engaging. How many drafts do you do before you’re satisfied? A story like this would take me days to whittle down to the essentials.
    By the way, I like your profile pic- you’re pretty

    • Thank you so much! I don’t do drafts, I tend to write what I feel and like and that is what I produce every time I write on here. I’m glad you enjoy it – quite the compliment! And thank you, haha!

Leave a Reply

