Too Much Lipstick

“Too much lipstick.” I told the girl next to me, who was furiously applying a bright raspberry Chanel lipstick to her lips.

“I know, I know.” She sighed and put the cap on the lippie, looking into the restaurant mirror and fixing her soot black long hair. “It’s just… I really like this guy. But, he doesn’t seem to feel the same way.”

I shrugged, and straightened the collar on my black blouse. “What is meant to be will be. Everything happens for a reason, blah, blah, blah.” I replied, perhaps sounding a little bit ruder than I expected.

I looked into the mirror. The girl was glaring at me, hand on hip, an angry but bemused expression on her pale face.

“Hey, I know you. You’re Hailey, that girl who never talks to anyone. I always see you in my lectures. You never talk to anyone, what’s up with that?”

I smiled smugly, and turned to face her. “Listen, honey. You go back to your date with your brainless jock, and I’ll go back to my dinner. I don’t do small talk.”

Her smile turned into a frown. “It’s a shame you’re all alone on Valentine’s Day. You’re pretty. Would have thought someone might have asked you out. Whatever.” She picked her bag and smoothed down her skirt. “I’m Veronica, by the way. If you wanna hang out, or if you want to learn that when people try to make friends with you, you should take that chance, because it probably won’t come back again; then give me a call”.

Veronica turned around and opened the bathroom door, leaving swiftly, her high heels clicking against the red tiles.

I sighed, and looked at my reflection. No one had ever said I was pretty before. Yet, if I was supposedly so pretty, why was I dining alone in the restaurant near my college, on Valentine’s Day? I ran my finger through my shoulder length blonde hair, and noticed that Veronica had left her lipstick by the sink. I picked it up and took off the cap.

“Time to apply too much lipstick”. I whispered to myself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Short Stories.

Leave a Reply

