I indulged in his sadness

I indulged in his sadness. 

His salty tears and his red eyes – I couldn’t get enough of it. 

His face replicated mine ten years ago, when he was indulging in my sadness. 

Now it was my turn.

“Why are you doing this to me, Violet?” he looked up at me, a dripping bloodied nose and a bleeding mouth.

“Because,” I replied calmly. “All you ever did to me was hurt me with your words. So I’m hurting you with my fists.”

I kicked him in his stomach and he groaned and rolled onto the rocky ground.

“Violet, I’m sorry. I’m sorry about what I did to you, okay? I was stupid and I-“

“No you weren’t. You knew what you were doing.” I bent down and looked him in the eyes.

“You indulged in my sadness.” I lit a cigarette and blew the smoke in his face, making him cough.

“I- what?! Violet, you are insane! I never was happy to see you sa-” 

I kicked his stomach again.

“You indulged in my sadness. Now let me indulge in yours.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

